Disney Full Review: Jock Lindsey’s Hangar Bar at Disney Springs

Jock Lindsey’s Hanger Bar is our absolute favorite place to grab a drink at Disney Springs.  Our new-ish, since Hanger Bar is somewhat new, first day tradition is to head to Disney Springs, get a drink (or two…) and a snack at Hangar Bar, and then go to Epcot for Illuminations.   We usually try to go at least twice when we’re there.

hangarbar1
Jock Lindsey’s Hangar Bar at Disney Springs

Boasting a creative drink menu, light snacks, and an amazing atmosphere, particularly if you like Indiana Jones, it is a spot I dont recommend missing.  The interior is a 1940’s airplane hangar, and as the story goes, it was built by Jock Lindsay (you may remember him from Raiders of the Lost Ark) and became a popular watering hole for travelers.  The exterior overlooks the lake, and if you’re lucky you might see an amphicar launch from The Boathouse next door.  Overall, its a great spot to sit and chill.  All seating is first come first serve, and we typically did not find it busy, but we usually go at off peak times.

HangarBar_IntExt.png
Hangar Bar interior (left), and exterior (right).  There are plenty of cool details to look at inside and outside, be sure to check them out!

We have sampled quite a few of the drinks on the menu.  Here they are with my rating (out of 5), and a comment.  I’ve combined some pictures to save a little space.

Bedtime Story  – Absolut Mandrin Vodka, Domaine de Canton Ginger Liqueur, Hibiscus Syrup, fresh Lemon Juice, and Iced Tea.  My Rating:  3.5/5.  This is a perfectly acceptable drink, its not very sweet and its pretty refreshing.  However, I don’t think its anything particularly amazing to write home about. I will say that my fiancé likes this drink more than me and rates it a 4/5.  The standout is the candied hibiscus flower on top.  Its edible, and amazing.  I’ve contemplated asking for a few of them in a to-go box to snack on.  But decided that would be weird.  Maybe not, I’m undecided.

Safari Sangria – South African Red Wine with Van Der Rum Tangerine Liqueur.  My Rating:  3/5.  I wasn’t a huge fan of this, I thought the tangerine liqueur would give it a little something extra but it just tasted like red wine to me.  That might be how you like your sangria though.

HangarBar_BedSang.png
Hangar Bar Bedtime Story and Safari Sangria. You can also see the custom coasters from bars and clubs in the Indiana Jones universe.

Bam’s Barnstormer – Gosling’s Black Seal Rum, Fever-Tree Ginger Beer, and fresh Lime Juice.  My Rating:  3.5/5.  This is really just a Dark and Stormy, but this doesn’t disappoint. The bartenders at Hangar Bar can mix a mean drink, even the “classics.” However, there are more exciting drinks on the menu.  This one is not pictured.

Air Pirate’s Mule – Knob Creek Disney Select Single Barrel Reserve Bourbon and fresh Lime Juice topped with Fever-Tree Ginger Beer.  My fiancé’s rating, because honestly I hate bourbon:  3.5/5.  His comment is “it was good, if you like bourbon.”  So, there you go.

Reggie’s Revenge – Florida Cane ‘Orlando Orange’ Vodka, Midori Melon Liqueur, White Cranberry Juice, and fresh Lime Juice.  My Rating: 4.5/5.  This was my favorite drink, until I had the Cool Headed Monkey.  Generally I really like drinks that are green for some reason, but this one is very refreshing, and a little tangy from the cranberry and lime juice.  This is one of the more popular drinks on the menu, I recommend giving it a try!

HangarBar_AirReggie.jpg
Hangar Bar Air Pilots Mule (on the left), and Reggie’s Revenge (on the right).  You can buy the cup for Reggie’s Revenge if you’d like a souvenir (and its glass as opposed to plastic, as so many souvenir cups tend to be).

Cool Headed Monkey – Starr African Rum, Van Der Hum Tangerine Liqueur, fresh Lime Juice, Watermelon, and Pineapple Juice.  My Rating: 4.75/5.  I was nervous about this because there are so many flavors going on, but I have to say this is my favorite out of all the drinks I’ve tried.  Its sweet, kind of like fruit punch (well, I guess its rum punch), but awesome.  And dangerous, I couldn’t taste the alcohol in this.

Aviator’s Flight – ¾-oz pour of each Single Malt Scotch Whisky – The Macallan 12 yr Speyside, Highland Park 12 yr Orkney Islands, and Bowmore 12 yr Islay.  I’m not going to rate this because its just 3 3/4 oz pours, which is pretty hard to mess up.  The way that its presented is pretty cool, you get the drinks on a wooden propeller.

HangarBar_MonkeyFlight.png
The Cool Headed Monkey and Aviator’s Flight.  That’s me taking a picture of my drink in the background.  You can buy the Cool Headed Monkey cup as well.
And now for the food!  We have sampled a bit less of the food, and the menu recently went through an overhaul.  The new one is still good and kept the favorites.  They also have a Holiday Menu which has dishes inspired by the most recent Holiday (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.), and a happy hour menu with some food options.  You can see the full menu here.

Air Pirates Pretzels – A flight of Everything Pretzels with spicy German Mustard and Beer Cheese Fondue.  My Rating: 4.75/5.  Pretzels go well with drinking, so I may be biased, but the sauces, particularly the spicy german mustard, really make these amazing.  Its a pretty big portion, and comes with plenty of dipping sauce.  And I love the presentation!  Just wait until they bring it to your table in a more grown up version of the “airplane” game (but don’t worry, they don’t try to feed you).

Rolling Boulders Sliders – Three-Runaway Brisket Meatballs with Tomato-Bacon Jam, House-made Pickles, Shredded Lettuce, and Tomato.  My (snarky) Rating: 3/5.  Okay, I really loved these before the menu overhaul.  They used to have tzatziki on them, and you should know by now how much I love tzatziki.  These are still good, but I miss the other ones.  Really, they probably deserve at least a 4/5, but man do I miss that tzatziki…

Junior’s Fedora Flatbread – A hit at the Jones’ holiday gatherings! Toasted Flatbread layered with Slow-roasted Turkey, Cranberry-Onion Jam, Butternut Squash, crisped Greens, Chèvre, and Candied Pecans finished with a splash of Sage Oil.  My Rating:  2.5/5.  So, I had this during Thanksgiving and it had a different name, it was called “Thanksgiving” something or other.  I think they changed the name and description to a more generic “holiday” theme.  Regardless, this was okay.  There is a lot going on with it, and its really just deli turkey and a bunch of toppings on a flatbread.  I wasn’t that impressed.  Get the pretzels or sliders instead.

HangarBar_Food.png
Rolling Boulder Sliders, Fedora Flatbread and Air Pirates Pretzels.

So, Drinking Ever After, what are your thoughts on Jock Lindsey’s Hangar Bar?

Well, clearly we have visited Jock Lindsay’s Hangar Bar quite a bit.  We think its great!  Definitely check it out when you’re in Disney Springs.  Get a drink, get the pretzels, hang out and enjoy the atmosphere, its worth it!

Leave a Reply

